» Home / UNIZG

University of Zagreb

The University of Zagreb is the oldest Croatian university and also the oldest university in South-Eastern Europe.

The University was officially founded on September 23rd, 1669 by the Emperor and King Leopold I of Habsburg, who issued a diploma granting university status and privileges to the Jesuit Academy of the Royal Free City of Zagreb.

Currently, the University of Zagreb has 34 faculties, schools and academies, and it is the largest university in the Republic of Croatia.

It contains four University schools from the biomedical group:
• Medical School
• School of Dental Medicine
• Faculty of Pharmacy and Biochemistry
• Faculty of Veterinary Medicine